‘art is the only way to run away without leaving home’ Twyla Tharp.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hi all,

As I’ve said in previous posts I am a creative being at heart.  I’ll dabble in most things, never perfect anything, but I have fun trying.  Sometimes my work is noticed and one thing can lead to another.  I am able to experiment with my creativity as I have chosen a profession that I love which is nursing.  I support and provide consultation on dementia and delirium and work within the large teaching hospitals in Sydney.  Creative endeavours are not free!

For some years I painted and I became, can I say, a little obsessive.  I would have trouble sleeping at night thinking about an unfinished work that needed ‘just a little more’.  I could paint into the night and the world really was oblivious around me.  I found the practice very isolative and to ensure I could still converse with people and uphold my social skills, I put the brushes down.  During this phase however I was fortunate to have some works in the store davidmetnicole as well as a group showing at Ruby Rabbit in Taylor Square.  I had a successful exhibition in our little house in Annandale with copious amounts of champagne and laughs.  If requested would be happy to paint a piece for an auction to raise money for a good cause or as a gift for a partner/family member.

So I’m thinking of dipping the toes back in.  I’ll sleep on it and keep you informed.  Meanwhile below are some of the works created during this period.  Enjoy.

Annie x

Sold through davidmetnicole.

Sold through davidmetnicole.

Currently hanging in our living room.  One of only 2 paintings I can't part with.

Currently hanging in our living room. One of only 2 paintings I can’t part with.

Given to a gallery owner to say 'thank you'.

Gifted to a gallery owner to say ‘thank you’.

Sold at home exhibition.

Sold at home exhibition.

Sold at home exhibition.

Sold at home exhibition.

Sold at Auction.

Sold at Auction.