I have had this book in my bookshelf for a while, I purchased it in a sale.  I have always loved the music of Eric Clapton but I was intrigued about his ‘rock n roll’ life.

The book does not disappoint.  It is beautifully and honestly written.  The book centres around a number of key influences in his life – love of music and art, drugs and alcohol and his love for Pattie Boyd. Since knowing the song ‘Wonderful Tonight’ I was fascinated to read about this woman who inspired such a beautiful song.  Clapton is desperately in love with her but she is married to George Harrison.  The book respectfully depicts the breakdown in that relationship for her to be able to be with Clapton.

His music remains powerful and innovative.  Great read, fascinating life.

Unknown-4
Images courtesy of lucywho.com

Images courtesy of lucywho.com